0054. The Berzerker – Dissimulate [2002]

Dissimulate(album)

Mmmm… Australian grindcore.  Or, “industrial death metal,” or whatever.  Why is this on my list?  Because this is the group that helped me acquire my taste for grindcore.  Once you can acquire that, you will realize how fucking awesome it is.  Most people have no desire to acquire that taste, but whatever.  Their loss.  Maybe they’re like my father in that they can’t relate to such intensely dark emotions.  He told me that one time in response to my query into why he can’t find anything to appreciate about Slipknot.

Anyway, the first album I heard of theirs was their self-titled debut.  “Reality,” was the song, and I first heard it through Stepmania: a DDR emulator for Windows & Mac.  I still can’t pass the fucking song, but I love it anyway.  In fact, it might have been my experience(s) trying to pass it on Stepmania that made me love the song and subsequently the group as much as I do.  Anyway, the reason I included this album on my list before, or instead of, the debut is because this album just sounds better overall.  Maybe due to the inclusion of a real drummer instead of a drum machine, although I don’t particularly mind drum machines either.

I would’ve loved to have seen these guys live, but they’ve been on “indefinite hiatus” for 5 years or so now.  Ah well.  If you think you’re up to the challenge of withstanding the relentless aural assault that is The Berzerker, then by all means, give this album a whirl.

Wikipedia Says:

Dissimulate is the second album, released in 2002, by the death metal band The Berzerker. This is the only full-length album the band has released that features an actual drummer instead of a drum machine.

Reception[edit]

Track listing[edit]

  1. “Disregard” – 1:20
  2. “Failure” – 2:26
  3. “The Principles and Practices of Embalming” – 3:25
  4. “No One Wins” – 1:50
  5. “Death Reveals” – 1:56
  6. “Compromise” – 2:43
  7. “Betrayal” – 2:30
  8. “Last Mistake” – 3:20
  9. “Painless” – 3:16
  10. “Pure Hatred” – 1:24
  11. “Paradox” – 2:06
  12. “Abandonment” – 1:36
  13. “Untitled Track” – 1:06
  14. “Corporal Jigsore Quandary” (Carcass cover) – 5:34

Personnel[edit]

  • Luke Kenny – vocals, samples, drum programming
  • Matt Wilcock – guitar
  • Sam Bean – bass, vocals
  • Gary Thomas – drums
Leave a Reply

