0053. kidneythieves – Trickster [1998]

Kidneythieves-Trickster

Ok, I know that technically, the album I posted on my podcast site is the 2004 re-release of Trickster called Trickstereprocess.  It has all the bonus tracks (not the DVD, of course), but I like this album art a lot better, and I don’t think the digital remastering did any harm to the original tracks.  Maybe I haven’t compared and contrasted them closely enough, but that’s my opinion, and I doubt anyone out there gives a crap either way.

Anyway, this is group is female-fronted industrial rock, and FUCK!  Free Dominguez’s voice is so goddamn beautiful.  She’s by far one of my favorite female vocalists out there.  One of her solo albums may end up on this list at some point, too.  Everything the woman touches is gold, in my opinion.  Or, at least, it has been so far.

I first heard about these guys through a sampler from Alternative Press, a magazine that used to cover a broad array of music until it started focusing exclusively on punk, emo, scene, what-the-fuck-ever-core, etc.  The song on it was “S+M (A Love Song,” and it captured my heart with the lyrics, “Pound the love outta me!  Beat the love outta me!”  “Fuck yeah!” I said to myself.  For whatever reason, it took me a while to finally acquire a copy of this album.  I think when I finally did, it was at a show in NYC at Irving Plaza when they opened up for KMFDM.  That’s when I got my Zerøspace poster signed as well.  Greeeeat fuckin’ show, although it was unfortunately the only time I ever got to see kidneythieves perform.  They were well into Zerøspace territory at that point, so I don’t think they played many songs off Trickster.  I wouldn’t have known anyway.

ANYWAY, enough of my fuckin’ rambling.  Enjoy this album, or don’t.  Don’t enjoy it if you’re a dick or a cunt.

Wikipedia Says:

Trickster was the first album released by Kidneythieves, on July 28, 1998. The album was released with the single “S+M (A Love Song)”, as well as “Taxicab Messiah” which had a music video. It was rereleased in 2004 as Trickstereprocess (see below).

Track listing[edit]

  1. Taxicab Messiah – 4:20
  2. S+M (A Love Song) – 3:33
  3. Swanmate – 1:04
  4. Feathers – 3:39
  5. Trickster – 4:35
  6. Creature – 4:30
  7. K – 4:05
  8. Pretty – 5:22
  9. Layers – 3:50
  10. Pleasant – 3:35
  11. Mustard Seed – 5:17

Trickstereprocess[edit]

Trickstereprocess is a 2004 re-release of the first CD from the Kidneythieves, completely digitally remastered. It includes five new bonus tracks. It also includes a bonus DVD that includes never before seen concert and rehearsal footage, as well as Kidneythieves music videos.

Track listing[edit]

CD:

  1. Taxicab Messiah – 4:20
  2. S+M (A Love Song) – 3:33
  3. Swanmate – 1:04
  4. Feathers – 3:39
  5. Trickster – 4:35
  6. Creature – 4:30
  7. K – 4:05
  8. Pretty – 5:22
  9. Layers – 3:50
  10. Pleasant – 3:35
  11. Mustard Seed – 5:17
  12. Veteran – 3:58
  13. Red & Violet – 3:20
  14. Taxicab Messiah (live) – 4:25
  15. Pleasant (live) – 3:37
  16. Before I’m Dead (acoustic) 3:47

DVD:

  1. red & violet [music video]
  2. red & violet [multi-angle music video]
  3. red & violet [boomerang-effect music video]
  4. black bullet [live]
  5. taxicab messiah [live]
  6. before i’m dead [live]
  7. glitter girl [live]
  8. zerospace [live]
  9. dyskrasia [live]
  10. zerospace [music video]
  11. taxicab messiah [music video]
  12. credits

Notes[edit]

Leave a Reply

