0050. Kittie – Oracle [2001]

Kittie_Oracle

So, we come at last to album number 50!  What a monster this album is.  Seriously, their debut album, “Spit,” kicked my ass hard when I first heard Brackish, and I was a huge fan then.  I even got to hang out with them and share some… unique experiences with them.  Not sexual, mind you.  Although, I wouldn’t say no to a little somethin’ with Morgan.  She’s a sexy beast, and I don’t usually think of musicians, movie stars, celebrities, etc. as attractive.  They’re just too far away from my life to have that sort of appeal.

Anyway, the first time I saw Kittie, I was at the old Birch Hill Nite Club in Old Bridge.  I was hanging around the tour bus with some guys from a now-defunct goth-industrial rock band called Witchmoon, with whom Kittie had toured through Canada.  The singer, Craig, decided he wanted to draw on someone, so I volunteered.  He lifted up my shirt, and proceeded to draw a large skeleton with a top hat giving the devil horn sign with his hands.  At some point during his drawing, Morgan comes off the bus and sees us, decides to contribute, and draws a smiley face with a top hat and a corn cob pipe on my nipple.  I guess something about that, or maybe the way I was dressed endeared me to her and/or the rest of Kittie, because I was invited along with a few other people to watch the show from the side of the stage.

After the show, we were invited to hang out with them in the backstage lounge, too.  I unfortunately can’t remember if I said anything particularly substantive.  I was pretty starstruck.  I must’ve done something right, though, because I was invited to hang out with them a number of times after that whenever they came around.  The last time I saw them was in Anaheim, CA back in 2012, and they actually remembered me from a decade ago.  Here’s a picture from that occassion:

IMAG0569

Anyway, I’ve rambled on long enough.  This album, Oracle, represents Kittie’s steadfast refusal to be lumped in with all the other nu-metal that was thriving and diving at the time.  This album kicked up the brutality to 11.  This one is more of a traditional metal album, but with Kittie’s distinct twists to it.  I chose this album over the others (which may yet end up in this list anyway) because it showed me that Kittie wasn’t going to just fade away like so many nu-metal artists did.  These girls play metal, and goddammit, they do it damn well.

Wikipedia Says:

Oracle is the second album by Kittie, a Canadian all-female heavy metal band from London, Ontario. It was released in 2001.

The album debuted at #57 in theBillboard Top 200, selling 30,000 copies. By the end of December 2001 the album sold 115,000 units in the US. By the end of 2002 the album sold 225,000 units in the US. The music video for “What I Always Wanted” received heavy airplay on the MTV2 and MuchMusic channels.

The album peaked at #121 on the Official Top UK Albums Chart. It also peaked at #91 on the Official German Albums chart.[7]

Background[edit]

After finishing their schedule on the2001 SnoCore Tour, the band planned on returning to the same basement where they recorded their first album, to begin a work on a sophomore effort.

Lead guitarist and vocalist Morgan Lander noted how the band members were only 14 years old when writing their debut album and that “We haven’t written in 4 or 5 years.” She acknowledged a change in influence from their early days, stating, “Then we listened to bands like Nirvana,Silverchair, and Alice in Chains. Now we listen to stuff like Cannibal Corpseand Nile.” However, the band would continue to write in the same fashion by first composing the music and then using that “as the backdrop behind the vocals.”[8]

Track listing[edit]

No. Title Writer(s) Length
1. “Oracle” Mercedes Lander, Morgan Lander 2:02
2. “Mouthful of Poison” Lander, Lander 4:38
3. “In Winter” Lander, Lander 5:32
4. “Severed” Lander, Lander 3:20
5. Run Like Hell” (Pink Floyd cover) David Gilmour & Roger Waters 4:09
6. “Pain” Lander, Lander 3:49
7. “Wolves” Lander, Lander 3:25
8. What I Always Wanted Lander, Lander 3:43
9. “Safe” Lander, Lander 4:12
10. “No Name” Lander, Lander 2:14
11. “Pink Lemonade” Lander, Lander 10:37

Personnel[edit]

Production
Leave a Reply

