0015. Infected Mushroom – Vicious Delicious [2007]

vicious-delicious-509d132329b0e

Helllll yes!  This is by far my favorite Infected Mushroom album so far.  Mind you, I still love the fuck out of the early stuff: all the Psy/Goa trance stuff.  I’ve loved Psy/Goa since like, 2000/2001 or something.  Way back when I first heard Astral Projection’s Ambient Galaxy, I was hooked.  I’ve since included a lot of obscure Psy/Goa artists on my weekly podcast: Monday Morning Aural Sex.  If, somehow, you don’t know about my podcast already, be sure to click the link on the picture above and it’ll take you to my podcast site where you can hear this entire album along with every other album on both my list and the official one.

Anyway, yeah, I’ve drawn from this album many times for tracks for my podcast.  I’ve also played several of these tracks on Stepmania, and whoever programmed the step charts did a really good job.  This album is Israeli psychedelic electro-rock with a bit of hip-hop mixed in.  If that sounds like something you’d get into, give this album a whirl.  By the way, this band is well-known for putting on phenomenal live shows.  If you get a chance, definitely snag some tickets and see them.  They’re touring right now, actually. I’ve seen them thrice so far.  The first time, there were a bunch of bright blacklight reactive mushroom props on stage which looked awesome.  I danced my ass off hard that night.  The second time was at the Electric Factory in Philly.  They had these massive orbs onstage that projected various visuals (or had various visuals projected on them).  It was a DJ set, but still just as epic as the full band set.  The third time was another full band set, but without the blacklight props.  Very toned down stage, but they still got the audience hyped as fuck.

I’m about to see them in February again at the Electric Factory with my fiancé, Mercy, and I’m really looking forward to what they’re going to do with Animatronica.  Plus, Au5 is opening, and I haven’t heard a bad track of theirs/his/hers yet.  Anyway, let me wrap this up now with what (surprisingly) little Wikipedia has to say about this album:

Wikipedia Says:

Vicious Delicious is the sixth studio album by psychedelic trance duo Infected Mushroom, released on March 26, 2007.[3]The cover art was done by David Ho who later made a similar artwork for Seether’s Finding Beauty in Negative Spaces. The album was originally scheduled to be released on 6/6/06, but the release date was postponed because, according to posts by the band on their forum, promotion had not begun far enough in advance and the parties involved decided to delay the release.[4]

Vicious Delicious has a somewhat different sound than that of other Infected Mushroom albums, pleasing some fans and alienating others. The track “Artillery” epitomizes this change in sound, being the only hip-hop track on the album, incorporating a somewhat nu metal sound. The rest of the album contains music that can be described as an electronic hybrid of trance, psychedelic, and rock. The song “Artillery” was featured in the movie You Don’t Mess with the Zohan.

Track listing

  1. “Becoming Insane” (featuring Gil Cerezo) – 7:20
  2. “Artillery” (featuring Swollen Members) – 4:28
  3. “Vicious Delicious” – 7:24
  4. “Heavyweight” – 8:41
  5. “Suliman” – 6:10
  6. “Forgive Me” – 3:29
  7. “Special Place” – 6:53
  8. “In Front of Me” – 4:29 (featuring Brandon McCulloch)
  9. “Eat It Raw” – 6:30
  10. “Change the Formality” – 7:44
  11. “Before” – 6:56
Leave a Reply

