0009. Immortal Technique – Revolutionary Vol. 2 [2003]

Revolutionary_Vol._2_

One of the greatest hip-hop albums of all time, in my humble opinion.  In case you’re wondering, I am indeed one of those people who differentiate between hip-hop and rap.  I’ve heard some people say that rap is the more poetic, provocative stuff whereas hip-hop is the mainstream, but I think the opposite.  It doesn’t really matter in the end.  All that genre/sub-genre classification does is help you begin to understand certain nuances in music.  Of course, some people take it too far and become elitist(s), as if they and they alone hold the key to the one true definition of genre X, Y, and/or Z.

 

Anyway, I digress.  I first heard this guy when he performed at Rock The Bells in 2007 at some point in the early afternoon.  They had him on the main stage, but I imagine most people who went to that particular show were there for Wu-Tang Clan and Rage Against The Machine, who were headlining later on at night.  Anyway, I caught his set, and I thought he had some intensely brutal lyrics, and a voice that just demanded respect.  After that set, I went and bought a copy of this album from his merch booth.  From then on, I was a HUGE fan.

 

Immortal Technique had/has a style that I’d always wanted to hear more of in hip-hop, but really just didn’t until him.  Anyone familiar with his underground hit, “Dance With The Devil,” can guess what the fuck I’m talking about.  Amusingly enough, I think I cock-blocked myself one time because of that song.  I got into a conversation with this random girl at Loop Lounge back in summer of 2013 about the difference between rap and hip-hop (outlined above), and I brought up Immortal Technique as one of my absolute favorites.

 

She suddenly got this look on her face like I’d just sharted on her tits while she was deep-throating me.  “Ew, oh god, no.  I can’t deal with that guy.  That song ‘Dance With The Devil’ is fucking disgusting, how he talks about that kid raping his own mother.”  “Well… yeah, it’s disgusting.  It’s meant to be that way to illustrate the ugliness of gang violence, and to demonstrate how you can have your soul stolen in an instant if you don’t watch out for it.”  I didn’t actually say all of that.  It was something more condensed, but you get the gist.  Anyway, her ignorant response irritated me so much that I lost pretty much all interest almost instantaneously.  I bade her good evening, and then retired to my cave to jerk off and laugh about a litany of other things by which I imagined she’d not only be disgusted, but profoundly scarred for life.  A Serbian Film comes to mind immediately.

 

Anyway, enough of my yammering.  Here’s what Wikipedia has to say about this album:

Wikipedia Says:

Revolutionary Vol. 2 is the second studio album by rapper Immortal Technique, It was released on November 18, 2003, and is a follow-up to his debut album, Revolutionary Vol. 1.

Revolutionary Vol. 2 attacks the United States government, especially the Bush Administration. Immortal Technique claimed in an interview to have sold more than 85,000 copies.[6] The album features Mumia Abu-Jamal, who introduces the album and also provides a speech about hip hop’s relationship to Homeland security. Issues repeatedly discussed on the album include poverty, drug trade, slave labor, censorship, the September 11th World Trade Center attacks, media bias, racism, the prison industrial complex and class struggle.

 

Track listing

# Title Featured guest(s) Producer Length
1 “Revolutionary Intro” Mumia Abu-Jamal 0:13
2 “The Point of No Return” SouthPaw 4:03
3 “Peruvian Cocaine” Pumpkinhead, Diabolic, Tonedeff, Poison Pen, Loucipher & C-Rayz Walz SouthPaw 4:50
4 “Harlem Streets” SouthPaw 3:54
5 “Obnoxious” SouthPaw 4:51
6 “The Message and the Money” SouthPaw 3:57
7 “Industrial Revolution” Metaphysics 3:40
8 “Crossing the Boundary” Danja Mowf 4:49
9 “Sierra Maestra” (Interlude) Domingo 0:49
10 “The 4th Branch” Danja Mowf 5:20
11 “Internally Bleeding” Domingo 2:47
12 “Homeland and Hip Hop” (Interlude) Mumia Abu-Jamal 44 Caliber 2:46
13 “The Cause of Death” Omen 5:55
14 “Freedom of Speech” Danja Mowf 3:09
15 “Leaving the Past” SouthPaw 4:30
16 “Truth’s Razors” (Interlude) SouthPaw 0:21
17 “You Never Know” Jean Grae SouthPaw 7:50
18 “One” (Remix) Akir SouthPaw 4:36

Samples

  • “Peruvian Cocaine” samples theme from the Scarface film. The outro speech is the infamous speech by the character Nino Brown from the film New Jack City.
  • In the transition between the end of “The Message and the Money” and the beginning of “Industrial Revolution”, an audio sample from the film A Soldier’s Storyis used.
  • At the end of Homeland and Hip Hop, a sample from the Sci-Fi 1997 film Contact is used.
Leave a Reply

